Information on Washington Laws Regarding Personal Injury Claims
The state of Washington has specific laws regarding personal injury claims. These apply whether you go through an insurance company or file a lawsuit with the court. Here are a few details about personal injury law in Washington.
Statute of Limitations
Each state has a limit of time where you can file a lawsuit for personal injury. In Washington, that period, called the statute of limitations, is three years. In other words, you have within three years’ time to file your lawsuit or else it will not be heard by the court, and you will not be able to receive compensation for your injuries.
For more information on personal injury in Washington visit http://www.alllaw.com/articles/nolo/personal-injury/laws-washington.html#
Comparative Fault Rules
There are times when a person who isn’t is determined to share some percentage of the fault, which means they are partly to blame for their injuries. Washington is one of the states in the United States that has what is known as a “pure comparative negligence” rule. This means that the amount that you receive in compensation is reduced if you are found to be partially at fault for your injuries. For example, if you were involved in a car accident and were injured and sued was awarded $10,000 in compensation, but the judge or jury determined you were 10 percent at fault, you would only receive $9,000.
Anytime a personal injury suit goes to trial; the court must apply the comparative negligence rule when awarding damages to the plaintiff. Also, you can also face additional adjustments to your compensation for your injuries if an insurance adjuster is involved.
Strict Liability for Dog Bites
In the states of Washington, when it comes to dog bite personal injury cases, there is strict liability, which means that the owner is automatically responsible for their dog biting or attacking someone. This is in place in spite of the “one bite” rule, which only applies when the dog has a history of biting. In Washington, the owner is always responsible, even if their pet has never had a history of aggression. As a result, the dog owner must pay for personal injuries sustained by any person who is bitten or attacked by their dog.
No Damage Caps
In personal injury cases in Washington, there is no cap on the monetary amount of damage the plaintiff can collect. In fact, the state views damage caps as being unconstitutional.
If you have suffered a personal injury as a result of a car accident in the state of Washington, you need immediate legal assistance. Contact local personal injury attorneys in Vancouver, Washington to get the compensation you deserve for your injuries and other damages.